Where is Your Current Path Leading You?

Life is linear.

It’s full of cause and effect.

Everything happens for a reason.

What you put in is what you’ll get out.

 

I ask myself the following questions everyday when I’m on my lunch break at work:

  • Why am I here?
  • What am I doing this for?
  • Do I want to do this for the rest of my life?

I can’t answer the first 2 questions yet, but the last question is always answered by a resounding “NO WAY.”

I had a meeting with my manager last week and he said that I can do whatever I want within the company because I definitely have the skill set to do so. I take that as a great compliment but do I really want to do whatever I want within the company? Do I want to turn into him?

My best guess is that he’s in his sixties. I know he has gout which affects him greatly. I know he’s on salary so he gets the same wage regardless of how many hours he works. He’s working 50 hours next week which means he opens and closes everyday.

I hate working 35 hours a week and opening and closing the same day twice a week.

What he’s doing isn’t called living; it’s called working way too fuckin much. I often wonder, “why is he doing it?” or “why can’t he retire yet?”

Everyone I work with is miserable. One guy keeps on having kids because he gets 3 months of paternity leave. I wish I was joking…

Two other people constantly wonder if they’ll get fired soon. Another is trying to get a job somewhere else. Another is around 50 and is still living paycheck to paycheck.

I don’t want to turn into these people. I don’t want to live to work and work to live. I want to enjoy living, meet interesting people, and experience incredible things throughout the world. I don’t want to wait until I “retire” either.

I won’t have the opportunity with this job. I won’t have the time. I might have the money but I won’t have the health.

How about you? Where will you be in a few years if you continue on the same path? In 10 years?

* * *

If you’re scared shitless at that question like I am, stay tuned to the blog. I’m getting everything together to do a complete relaunch at the beginning of next year. Until then, stay positive and keep moving forward.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thought-Provoking Questions of the Week

Leave a comment