17 Things I Should Have Known at 17

This post was inspired by Julien Smith’s post titled 20 Things I Should Have Known at 20. Awesome food for thought so check it out.

5 years ago, I was 17 and in my freshman year in college. Damn, how things have changed! This was before our business, before I tried out for professional soccer teams, and before I’ve met so many incredible people around the world by doing what I love. This isn’t directly related to running a micro business, but a lot of these lessons can be used in running one.

 

  1. Your GPA in school has no direct correlation to how successful you’ll be in life.
  2. The college you go to has no direct correlation to how successful you’ll be in life. It’s no big deal if you don’t go to college.
  3. It’s about who you know, not what you know. Street smarts get you further than book smarts.
  4. It’s not a good thing when your credit card limit constantly increases.
  5. You probably won’t be friends with the friends you had in high school 5 years after high school.
  6. You probably won’t marry your high school sweetheart.
  7. Potential is a great thing to have but eventually you have to do something with it.
  8. Don’t do “it” just because everyone else is. Have your own opinion.
  9. Do as much as possible when you’re young. Play as many sports and join as many organizations as possible.
  10. What you write on Facebook, stays on Facebook.
  11. They say that high school is the best 4 years of your life but that’s only true if you’re proactive and make it that way.
  12. He who provides the alcohol will be popular.
  13. He who provides the alcohol is probably only popular because he provides the alcohol.
  14. You get away with a lot more when you’re young, so take advantage of that. Do dumb shit and learn from it.
  15. Don’t let the dumb shit you did in high school scar you for the rest of your life.
  16. High school crushes are awesome. You know what’s better, actually having a girl/boy friend instead. Ask the person out.
  17. Don’t break up with a boyfriend or girlfriend and keep on going back out with them. This is a great way to become emotionally unstable. Once it doesn’t work, it will never work.
10 Comments

Filed under Advice

10 responses to “17 Things I Should Have Known at 17

  1. I love this! I agree with #1,2,&3 completely since I learned that the hard way.

    • Thanks! I learned the hard way as well. Everyone was so caught up on having a high GPA, getting into a great college, etc. Guidance counselors and such make you believe that your life is over if you don’t get into a great college! I did have good grades and got into a decent college, but looking back, it was mostly bullshit.

      • Agreed! College is a business, that’s all.

      • When it comes down to it, yes, it’s just a business. It’s unfair that you can “buy” the name of a certain school and the degree. They also do a horrible job of teaching too. I learned more about business reading books than I did in class! I’m a German and American citizen and one of the major differences I notice in the education systems is that the universities are all not-for-profit and are government-owned and operated. Maybe that’s why as a whole, Europe is better educated, than Americans?

      • When I was going to college (for business), there were a lot of people in my class that just didn’t seem interested in anything. I think they started to ‘water down’ the courses, because you can’t force someone to be interested in the subject, but of course you can’t let the money go either! I think because there is so much pressure about getting into college right out of high school, a lot of people sign-up but have absolutely no clue what they want to do. School isn’t for everyone, and also it should be okay to take time off and find out what you want to do before you start pouring money into classes that don’t interest you. That way, also, the people in the classes that want to be there will get more out of it.

      • I did about 2 years in business as well and that’s an interesting theory that I agree with. Society’s perception of those who don’t go directly to college after high school is a flawed one. They’re seen as outcasts and “below” those who go straight to college. I dropped out (just stopped going) to college and my friends who continued their education never looked at me the same way again.

  2. That’s too bad. Only a couple of my friends actually finished college but luckily they didn’t judge. I agree though that people who didn’t finish college are looked at as ‘lesser’ than a college grad. Going to family reunions, they’ll praise my cousins that graduated, and my achievments go unnoticed. It’s aggravating!

    • I can relate to having your achievements going unnoticed. A lot of my friends have graduated the past 2 years and get all the praise. Meanwhile, I’ve worked on our business for 4 years now and I’d like to think we’re pretty successful. For the most part when I tell others about the business, the only response I get is “Oh, cool.” I guess they just can’t relate to it?

  3. That sounds so familiar! I can’t talk to a lot of people about work either, hence the blog! It can be frustrating sometimes. Sometimes I find myself connecting more with customers, you know, because they understand.

Leave a Reply

